An Introduction to the World of Indie Publishing

A Project Update

I put a countdown on my blog to keep my ever impending deadline in mind. However, after a couple of days I had to move it down the page so now it doesn’t appear on my laptop screen when I go onto my blog. No one needs to see their deadlines all the time.

So far, the Lost Dabs project is a mere 13 days old. So much has happened in the last couple of weeks of Foundations: I’ve decided on how the book will be published, the timescales for writing and editing, some of the characters details and an outline of the plot. I’ve created a method for capturing all my data around each character and the background facts of the world and developed a method for incrementally writing about each.

However, I’ve also learnt about something that I knew nothing of when I started. All I wanted to do was to publish a book myself using an established outlet. In my mind this was the Kindle Store – it seemed like the obvious choice as it has a large market share, the Amazon Store is something I already know about and, possibly most importantly, I already own a Kindle, an iPad with the Kindle App, an iPhone with the Kindle App… it’s all pretty accessible.

Doing It Yourself

But them I started reading about a whole world of Indie Authors. People who make a living doing what I’m trying to do. I realised that I am in massive danger of making light something that other people have spent years of their lives working on. I realised that I can’t produce any old crap and call myself an Indie Author. I realised I have to be a signed up member of the Indie movement.

This is the best news I’ve had since starting this project – the number of people who are all writing and independently publishing are all part of a great community. There’s massive competition in this market but I don’t want to see it. I want to embrace what other people are doing. I want to eschew the books I’ve bought on my shelves and start reading Indie Authors. I want to see what other people in my position are doing. I want to explore different genres and engage with people who are writing.

It’s the only way the Indie community can function: if I want people to read my book, I need to read and engage with those writing their own books.

As an unpublished Indie Author I don’t feel I can call myself fully part of this wonderful community yet, but I feel strongly enough to make it only a matter of time. Watch out world, the Huscin is coming! The countdown is ticking… maybe I should move it back to the top of my blog?!

7 thoughts on “An Introduction to the World of Indie Publishing

  1. I’m going to self publish the novel I’ve been working on. I’m getting very close to being ready to self publish it. I like this post because I’d never really thought about trying to look into the indie writer scene that is already out there. Do you have any communities or forums that you would suggest joining?

  2. Hi Joe – thanks for the feedback on this. I’ve only been getting into this for the past couple of weeks so I am a real noob, however, I’ve been looking around on blogs and twitter and there’s a lot of likeminded people around – I just feel that if you’re not prepared to read, engage and give feedback on other people’s books then how can you expect other people to do the same with yours?
    I started with the post below and went from there – this guy really seems clued up on things. It’s worth reading all the bits of his manifesto he’s put on his blog:
    http://bernardjschaffer.blogspot.co.uk/2013/06/the-manifesto-of-independent-writing.html

    Good luck with the book launch – let me know how you get on and what and where you’re publishing.

  3. It’s a good place to start. I’ve always believed in the whole ‘do unto others what you would have them do to you’, so I’ve now started reviewing every book I read. It can be a bit of a double-edged sword though, because inevitably I’ve come across books I didn’t like… Best of luck to your project anyway! You’ve got a great attitude going into it. =)

    • Thanks for that – we’ll see how my attitude is nearer the end! 😉

      How are you coping with reviewing books you don’t like? Are you writing honest reviews for anything badly written and simply pretend you didn’t read a book in a genre you don’t get on with?

      • I’m lazy enough that I don’t usually read outside my preferred genres, but I always do my best to make a distinction between a book I don’t like and a book I think is badly written. I also do my best to point out positive bits. It’s not always possible to make a ‘bad news sandwich’, but I try!
        Luckily there aren’t that many books that are truly terrible, and I’m quite careful about what books I get anyway. If the sample is bad, I simply don’t buy the book.

  4. Harold…I’m rootin’ for ya, man! I am there, too. Have done a lot of reading about indie-publishing, own a book on it, had the ticking calendar, too. I had to completely remove mine, cuz I started freaking myself out!
    Checked out that Bernard link up there. Thanks for posting that. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

